French fries

Hi!

As you know from my chocolate chip cookies post, my dad came over for dinner on Monday night.  Dessert was the cookies.  The main dish was hamburgers, grilled to perfection by my husband.  But in my personal opinion, the star of the show was the French fries.

French fries and I go way back.  I have always preferred salty over sweet, known for being the child in my family that always chose a cracker over a cookie when offered both.  Bad breakup?  Let’s go through the drive-through for a Coke and fries.  Nothing makes me feel better on a bad day like fries.  Nothing goes with almost every meal like fries.  (Seriously, I’ve ordered fries as a side to my pancakes at lunch from a diner, that has happened more than once.)

So the next time you can’t think of a side item with your chicken, your hamburgers, your pork chops, reach for this recipe, and I swear you can’t go wrong.

The Pioneer Woman, aka Ree Drummond, aka one of my life inspirations, is the source of this recipe.  And like anything else she makes, you can’t go wrong with these.

Here’s a picture!

IMG_2795

As a very generalized summary, here’s how to make this magic:

  1. Wash and peel one potato per person you’re sharing this delight with.
  2. Cut ’em into fry shapes.  I love thin fries.  I love all fries (see above), but the thin and crispy ones speak to my heart in a way few things do.  But don’t cut em too thin or they all fall apart (which is what happened last night).  It’ll take some practice to get the right shape for you.
  3. Soak ’em in a bowl of cold water.  Rinse and rinse again.  You’re relieving the potato of its starchy nature, which makes them good for frying.  Don’t skip this step!  Soak for minimum 2-3 hours.
  4. Drain off all the water and then lay out the fries on paper towels and blot with more paper towels so they’re pretty dry.
  5. Fry ’em once in 300-degree-Fahrenheit oil (2-3 inches’ worth in a heavy-bottom pot).  I used vegetable.  Only cook until they’re soft and kind of brown.  This is to cook the potato.
  6. Blot off the excess oil.
  7. Fry ’em a second time in 400-degree-Fahrenheit oil.  Now cook until they’re brown.  Drain again on paper towels, but you may not have to blot as much.  They’ll probably dry out on their own.
  8. Sprinkle salt (or Tony’s, or any spice blend of your choosing) on ’em and serve to your adoring fans.
  9. Curtsy (or bow) gratefully as they applaud you and your excellent cooking skills, and with a big ol’ grin on your face, say “It was nothing.”  Then swear not to make them again for awhile so you will always have this reaction.  It’ll be worth it.  🙂

Other blogs may post this tale and play it perfect, like nothing went wrong.  But this ain’t other blogs.  So learn from my mistakes…

  • I cut the fries too thin, so even though they were nice, long sticks when they soaked, they broke apart in the frying process.  Most of the fries ended up the tiny pieces my sister and I always call “the crunchies.”  It’s the best version of a fry, but very difficult to eat when you don’t have any whole ones.
  • I got oil everywhere.
  • I don’t have a great set of tongs yet, so I had to scoop the fries out of the hot oil with a slotted spatula.  It took about 30 years longer to do it this way!
  • My fabulous husband is so fabulous that he already owned a house by the time we’d only been dating for one month.  That said, I’m still getting used to the big kitchen appliances.  So I fried and re-fried all of the delicious potato goodness except for the last batch with the stove set to heat a smaller size pot than the one I was using.  So it took a really long time.  Pay attention to your stoves, people!

Thanks for taking the time to read about making delightful homemade french fries.  I hope you enjoy them!  And I hope the people you share them with enjoy them, too!

xoxo
kc

Leave a Reply

